24 Jun 2016 297 views
supporter of
atom rss 1.0 rss 2.0
web browser google del.icio.us digg technorati
| lost password
birth date
photoblog image The way of grief - seventh and last posting
The way of grief - seventh and last posting|

The way of grief - seventh and last posting


Station 13: At this station the taking down of Jesus from the cross, as per John 19: 40 "Then took they the body of Jesus, and wound it in linen clothes with the spices, as the manner of the Jews is to bury". In the main picture, you see people praying at, and kissing the stone of unction (anointing). This is the stone where Jesus was laid down to be anointed. Given the number of times that Jerusalem was razed, the number of times that this church/basilica had to be rebuilt, decisions that lead to this particular stone to be chosen; this may or may not be the actual stone. If it is the actual stone, it will represent probably the only place in Jerusalem, that was somehow touched by His body - making it a very special destination for Christian pilgrims. (In comparison - the streets comprising the Via Dolorosa, have been paved many times over - so there can be no cobble- or flagstone left, that He actually touched).


Around the corner, there is a man with a bucket, cleaning rags and a spray can. When there is no-one at the stone, he will wipe and spray the stone.


Station 14: A basilica, within a basilica. This chapel is built over the entry to the cave that was Jesus' tomb - according to tradition. This is one of three sites in Jerusalem, that is claimed as the tomb of Jesus.




General about Stations of the Cross: Religious pilgrimages by Christians to Jerusalem have been going on, since shortly after 70 AD. In the early years, a Via Dolorosa route would start at the garden of Gethsemane, go up to the house of Caiphas, etc. This was a much longer route and at the time would mean that the pilgrim would do a lot of walking outside the Jerusalem of those days.


This route changed to the route that is described in my last 7 postings, when the Franciscan Order was awarded Custody of the Holy Land in 1217. The 14 stations make up the Passion of Christ, which was held in veneration by Saint Francis of Assisi. A 15th station to commemorate that Jesus has risen from the dead, is sometimes added to the 14, but not here in Jerusalem. In many of the larger Roman Catholic churches, across the world, there will be 14 (sometimes 15) paintings or icons, depicting the Passion of Christ. I remember the ones in a church in Pècsz, Hungary quite vividly.


There is also a Scriptural Way of the Cross, which starts at the Garden of Gethsemane and continues for another 13 stations, replacing those that are not found in the Bible with other Bible based events. This is much the same as the route, that the earliest pilgrims followed.


The third version is the New Way of the Cross, which starts with the Last Supper, plus another 13 stations. This is a version from the Philipines.



Have a great weekend.



comments (13)

Powerful stuff, Louis!
Louis: Quite so, Elizabeth
  • Ray
  • United States
  • 24 Jun 2016, 03:17
Well, Louis, I have enjoyed your lessons on the Stations of The Cross very much, thank you.
Louis: Just a little series, within the Israel visit series, Ray. I am working on a coffee table book at the same time.
Thank you for this most interesting series Louis!
Louis: I am glad that you enjoyed it, Richard.
  • Chris
  • England
  • 24 Jun 2016, 05:56
Just imagine actually touching this stone then Louis..
Louis: It must mean the world to some people, yes, Chris.
  • Philine
  • Germany
  • 24 Jun 2016, 06:25
I experienced some moving scenens at this holy stone - women took holy water home with them - the humans are so needy beings.
Louis: Dankjewel, Philine. Ja, de mens staan wel klein bij deze evenementen.
Whatever the version, Louis, or language, the icons/paintings everywhere in the world continue to tell the story as though it happened yesterday. Quite amazing when you think about it.
Louis: Before my visit to Hungary, I wasn't aware of the Stations of the Cross and their meaning within the Catholic/Orthodox churches, Ginnie. I had to ask a guy in the church in Pècsz, what the row of paintings were all about.
Once again an interesting and educational posting.

Not a good day here as we have voted to leave the EU

Not a good idea!
Louis: Your reply to my comment indicated that we should stay away from referendums. We had our referendum (whites only) in 1992 on my birthday. The result ended the apartheid era. Some referendums are not so bad smile
The trip here so important to many, many people. It was a highlight of my maternal grandmother's life.
Louis: True, Mary. Many people make the trip, every year. I am glad for your grandmother that she could make it.
another interesting post, Louis. i am enjoying your details series.
Louis: Thank you Ayush. Bar Mitzvah, is next on the list.
  • Lisl
  • Bath, England
  • 24 Jun 2016, 14:31
The pilgrims obviously think it is authentic, Louis
Louis: Oh, they do, Lisl. I believe many people don't think logically about the time impact on places like these, or are caught up in an emotional warp, that close their eyes to the obvious. Under the right circumstances you can tell them, what is right is actually wrong and they will believe you. The reason why I am afraid of masses.
The actual sites of Jesus's walk were probably quite humble...
Louis: Probably, only the first station was grand - but the rest will just be the street where He walked and the hill where He got crucified.
  • Martine
  • France
  • 26 Jun 2016, 02:54
L'intérieur est aussi beau que l'extérieur.
Louis: C'est un endroit très spécial, Martine. Je vous remercie.
  • Astrid
  • Netherlands
  • 26 Jun 2016, 07:52
I caught up with your series... you did a great job explaining this all and I love the pictures with them. The one from Monday is a fabulous pictures, Great architecture.
Louis: Thank you Astrid. There are hundreds of picture opportunities and the place is an never ending experience.

Leave a comment

must fill in
[stop comment form]
for this photo I'm in a any and all comments icon ShMood©
camera COOLPIX P500
exposure mode shutter priority
shutterspeed 1/13s
aperture f/3.4
sensitivity ISO800
focal length 4.0mm
Brugge lace makingBrugge lace maki...
Bar MitzvahBar Mitzvah
The way of grief - sixth postingThe way of grief...